Register Account

Login Help


States With PRB-1 Laws

The following states 32 states have codified PRB-1 protections into state law:

Alaska, California, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.


Click here to locate links to these specific state's legislation.


State Statutes Incorporating PRB-1

PRB-1 does not specify a minimum height below which local governments can not regulate, but they must be "reasonable" in their accommodations. Some states have adopted state statutes which codify PRB-1. Five of those states--Alaska, Wyoming, Virginia, North Carolina and Oregon-- specify heights below which local governments in those states may not regulate. This actually goes further than PRB-1. Amateurs in other states are trying to convince their leglislators to sponsor similar legislation.



While at the "Law Review," ARRL Chief Technial Officer Brennan Price, N4QX,published a scholarly summary of case and statutory law related to PRB-1, the FCC's limited preemption of Amateur Radio antenna and antenna support zoning restrictions. This 29 page summary is designed to inform amateurs and their counsel, as well as municipal counsel, of the state of the law before any party adopts an unwise strategy.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn